Lathom
|
|
|
|
Lathom, township and local government district, Ormskirk par., N. Lancashire, on river Donglas and Leeds and Liverpool Canal, 4 miles NE. of Ormskirk, 8694 ac., pop. 4161. Lathom House, seat of Lord Skelmersdale, occupies the site of the ancient house of Lathom, defended by the Countess of Derby against the Parliamentary forces.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.Cemeteries
- St John the Divine, Church of England
- Christ Church, Ash Brow, Church of England, Newburgh
- St James, Vicarage Lane, Church of England, Westhead
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Lathom.Church History
Church Records
- St John the Divine, Church of England
- Christ Church, Ash Brow, Church of England, Newburgh
- St James, Vicarage Lane, Church of England, Westhead
- Hoscar Moss Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Hoscar Moss
- Moss Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lathom area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Lathom area is West Lancashire.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Lathom which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lathom to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Lathom was a township in the parish of Ormskirk.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Lathom and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD456100 (Lat/Lon: 53.583747, -2.823209), Lathom which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lathom was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

