Layton with Warbreck

Select map to view parish boundaries
LAYTON-WITH-WARBRECK, a township in Bispham parish, Lancashire; on the coast and on the Blackpool railway, 2½ miles SW of Poulton-le-Fylde. It contains the town of Blackpool. Acres, 3,241; of which 840 are water. Real property, 17,246; of which 150 are in gas works. Pop. in 1851, 2,564; in 1861, 3,907. Houses, 761. The manor belongs to J. T. Clifton, Esq. Knowle is the seat of Lord Edward F. Howard.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Blackpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Layton with Warbreck.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Layton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Layton with Warbreck area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Layton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Layton with Warbreck to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Layton with Warbreck was a township in the parish of Bispham. It is now better known as Blackpool.

Maps

View maps of Layton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD325369 (Lat/Lon: 53.823968, -3.026928), Layton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Layton with Warbreck was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.