Leck

Select map to view larger area
LECK, a township-chapelry in Tunstall parish, Lancashire; on a rivulet of its own name, a tributary of the Lune, and on the Ingleton railway, adjacent to the boundaries with Yorkshire and Westmoreland, 2½ miles SE by E of Kirkby-Lonsdale. Post town, Kirkby-Lonsdale, under Burton, Westmoreland. Acres, 4,636. Real property, 2,482. Pop., 324. Houses, 57. Leck House is the seat of H. T. Welsh, Esq. Leck Fell is an upland tract connected with Gragreth mountain, which has an altitude of 2,250 feet. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 80. Patron, the Vicar of Tunstall. There are endowed schools with 50 a year.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Leck.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Leck area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Leck area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Leck which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Leck to another place.

Historical Geography

Leck was a township and chapelry in the parish of Tunstall.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Leck and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD644766 (Lat/Lon: 54.183938, -2.547005), Leck which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Leck was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.