Lees

Select map to view larger area
LEES, or HEY, a chapelry in Ashton-under-Lyne and Rochdale parishes, Lancashire; contiguous to Yorkshire, and containing the village of Hey, ¼ of a mile N of Lees village, near Lees r. station, and 1½ mile E of Oldham. It was constituted in 1860; and its post town is Lees, under Manchester. Pop., 3,132. Houses, 669. Pop. of the Ashton portion, 653. Houses, 145. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 165. Patron, the Rector of Ashton. The church was built in 1742, as a chapel of ease to Ashton; and is a plain edifice. There are national schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Oldham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Lees.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lees area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Lees area is Oldham.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lees which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lees to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Lees was a chapelry in the parish of Ashton-under-Lyne.

History

A description of Lees in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Lees and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD955045 (Lat/Lon: 53.537122, -2.069375), Lees which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lees was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.