Levenshulme
|
|
|
|
Levenshulme, township with ry. sta., Manchester par., SE. Lancashire, 3 miles SE. of Manchester, 606 ac., pop. 3557; P.O., T.O.; is a local government district, and shares in the industries of Manchester.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
- Chapel Street, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Levenshulme.Church History
Church Records
- Essex St (now Elmsworth St), Baptist
- Cromwell Hall, Marshall Rd, Christian Centre
- Carrill Grove East, Christian Spiritualist
- Fifth Church of Christ, Scientist, Moseley Road, Church of Christ, Scientist
- St Andrew, Broom Avenue, Church of England
- St Andrew, Stockport Road, Church of England
- St Mark, Barlow Road, Church of England
- St Peter, Stockport Road, Church of England
- West Point Assembly Hall, Albert Rd, Church of God
- Stockport Road, Congregational
- Zion, Clare Road, Congregational
- Cromwell Grove, Free Methodist
- St Aidan, Clare Road, Orthodox Church (Patriarchate of Antioch)
- Cromwell Grove, Primitive Methodist
- St Mary of the Angels and St Clare, Clare Road, Roman Catholic
- St Mary of the Angels and St Clare, Elbow St, Roman Catholic
- St Mary of the Angels and St Clare, Stockport Road, Roman Catholic
- Stockport Road, Seventh Day Adventist
- Alma Park, Stockport Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Chapel Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Woodfold Ave (formerly Wesley St), Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Levenshulme area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Levenshulme area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Levenshulme which are provided by:Directories
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Levenshulme to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Levenshulme was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Levenshulme in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Levenshulme and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ874943 (Lat/Lon: 53.445305, -2.191179), Levenshulme which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Levenshulme was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

