Leyland
|
|
|
|
LEYLAND, a village, a township, a sub-district, a parish, and a hundred, in Lancashire. The village stands near the river Lostock, ¾ of a mile W of the Northwestern railway, and 5 miles S of Preston; is a seat of petty sessions; and has a post office under Preston, and a station on the railway. Fairs are held on 24 March and 26 Oct.; and an agricultural and horticultural meeting is held in Sept. The township comprises 3,651 acres. Real property, £13,658. Pop., 3,755. Houses, 748. The manor belonged, in the time of Edward the Confessor, to the Crown; had then a royal hall and court of justice; and, with Worden Hall, belongs now to the Misses Farmington. Worden Hall stands about ½ a mile S of the village, in a park of more than 300 acres; and is approached through a handsome modern arch-way adjacent to the village. Golden-Hill House is the seat of T. M. Shuttleworth, Esq.; Wellfield is the seat of John Eccles, Esq.; and the Old Hall is a Tudor mansion, now converted into a farm-house. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton mills.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...
Archives and libraries
Leyland Library,Lancastergate,
Leyland
PR5 1EX
Tel: 01772 432804
Fax: 01772 456549
Cemeteries
- St Andrew, Church Road, Church of England
- St James, Slater Lane, Church of England
- St Mary, Broadfield Drive, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Towngate, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Leyland.Church History
Church Records
- Leyland Lane, Baptist
- St Ambrose, Moss Lane, Church of England
- St Andrew, Church Road, Church of England
- St James, Slater Lane, Church of England
- St John, Leyland Lane, Church of England
- Quin St, Congregational
- Ebenezer, Towngate, Congregational
- Kingdom Hall, Oak View, Jehovah's Witness
- Leyland Lane, Orthodox Church of the Holy Apostles
- Broad St, Pentecostal Fellowship
- Leyland Lane, Primitive Methodist
- St Mary, Broadfield Drive, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Towngate, Roman Catholic
- Turpin Green Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Longmeanygate, Wesleyan Methodist, Midge Hall
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Leyland area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Leyland area is Preston & South Ribble.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Leyland which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Leyland to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Leyland contained the townships of Leyland, Clayton le Woods, Whittle le Woods, Heapey, Wheelton, Withnell, Hoghton and Euxton.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Leyland and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD546216 (Lat/Lon: 53.688863, -2.688970), Leyland which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Leyland was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
Leyland Historical SocietySocieties
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

