Lindale

Select map to view larger area
LINDALE, a chapelry, with a hamlet, in Upper Allithwaite township, Cartmel parish, Lancashire; on the W side of the estuary of the Kent, adjacent to the Ulverston and Lancaster railway, 3 miles ENE of Cartmel. It has a station on the railway, and a post office under Newton-in-Cartmel. The acreage and pop. are returned with the township. Castle-Head, the seat of E. Mucklow, Esq., is the chief residence. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 71. Patron, the Duke of Devonshire. The church was rebuilt in 1828; consists of nave and chancel, with a small tower; and contains 300 sittings. There is a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Lindale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lindale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Lindale area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lindale which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lindale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Lindale was a chapelry in the township of Upper Allithwaite in the parish of Cartmel.

Maps

View maps of Lindale and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD415805 (Lat/Lon: 54.216881, -2.898628), Lindale which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lindale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.