Little Bolton

Select map to view larger area
Bolton.-- or Bolton-le-Moors, par., mun. and parl. bor., and manufacturing town, SE. Lancashire, on river Croal, 11 miles NW. of Manchester and 194 miles NW. of London by rail -- par., 35,406 ac. (of which 289 ac. are water), pop. 124,763; mun. bor., 2404 ac., pop. 105,414; parl. bor., 2525 ac., pop. 108,963; 4 Banks, 7 newspapers. Market-days. Monday and Saturday. The town, which is divided by the river Croal into Great and Little Bolton, is one of the oldest seats of the cotton mfr., its staple industry; about 26,000 tons of raw material are manufactured annually into plain and fancy cotton goods. It has extensive bleaching, chemical, and engineering works, foundries, papermills, &c. Numerous collieries are in the neighbourhood. The bor. returns 2 members to Parliament.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Bolton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Bolton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Little Bolton area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Bolton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Bolton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Little Bolton was a township in the parish of Bolton.

History

A description of Little Bolton in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Little Bolton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD715110 (Lat/Lon: 53.594787, -2.432090), Little Bolton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Bolton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.