Little Bowland

Select map to view larger area
BOWLAND (Little), a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; under Bleasdale, 7 miles N W of Clitheroe. Acres, with Leagram township, 7,690. Real property, with Leagram, 3,296. Pop., 123. Houses, 19.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Bowland.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Bowland area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Little Bowland area is Ribble Valley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bowland which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Bowland to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Little Bowland was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Little Bowland and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD645460 (Lat/Lon: 53.908932, -2.541883), Little Bowland which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Bowland was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.