Little Crosby

Select map to view larger area
Crosby, Little, coast township, Sefton par., SW. Lancashire, adjacent to Great Crosby, 1811 ac. and 1126 foreshore, pop. 553.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Crosby library.

Cemeteries

Monumental inscriptions, St Mary's RC church

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Crosby.

Church History

St. Mary's RC church

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Crosby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Little Crosby area is Sefton South.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Crosby which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Crosby to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Little Crosby was a township in the parish of Sefton.

History

Maps

View maps of Little Crosby and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD318016 (Lat/Lon: 53.506640, -3.029796), Little Crosby which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Crosby was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.