Little Harwood

Select map to view larger area
HARWOOD (LITTLE), a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; 2 miles NE of Blackburn. It includes the hamlet of Bulls Head. Acres, 730. Real property, 1,994. Pop., 270. Houses, 53. The surface is chiefly moor and pasture.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Harwood.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Harwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Little Harwood area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Harwood which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Harwood to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Little Harwood was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Little Harwood and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD697293 (Lat/Lon: 53.759167, -2.461078), Little Harwood which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Harwood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.