Little Heaton

Select map to view larger area
HEATON (LITTLE), a township in Prestwich parish, Lancashire; contiguous to Great Heaton, 5 miles N of Manchester. It was called, till about a century ago, Heaton-Fallowfield. Acres, 509. Real property, 1,915. Pop., 838. Houses, 161. The manor belonged to the Hollands, and passed to the Egertons. About one half of the property belongs now to the Earl of Wilton. A farm house, called Old Hall, occupies the site of Old Heaton Hall. There is a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Heaton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Heaton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Little Heaton area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Heaton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Heaton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Little Heaton was a township in the parish of Prestwich.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Little Heaton in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Little Heaton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD837058 (Lat/Lon: 53.548571, -2.247487), Little Heaton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Heaton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.