Little Hoole

Select map to view larger area
Hoole, Little, and Hoole, Much, 2 townships, Hoole par., N. Lancashire - L. H., 1223 ac. (22 water), pop. 440; M. H., 1776 ac. (30 water), pop. 581.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Leyland library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Hoole.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Hoole Moss area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Little Hoole area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Hoole Moss which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Hoole to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Little Hoole was a township in the parish of Hoole.

Maps

View maps of Little Hoole Moss and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD485238 (Lat/Lon: 53.708068, -2.781699), Little Hoole Moss which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Hoole was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.