Little Hulton
|
|
|
|
HULTON (LITTLE), a village and a township chapelry in Deane parish, Lancashire. The village stands 2¼ miles WSW of Halshaw-Moor and Farnworth r. station, and 3½ S of Bolton; is a considerable place, inhabited chiefly by weavers and colliers; and has a post office under Bolton. The chapelry is sometimes called Peel. Acres, 1,470. Real property, £18,005; of which £11,084 are in mines, and £86 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 3,184; in 1861, 3,390. Houses, 670. Peel Hall belongs to Harrison Blair, Esq.; and Kenyon Peel Hall, to Lord Kenyon. Coal is largely worked. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150. Patron, Lord Kenyon. The church is a plain building, with a bell turret. There are a school room used for worship, chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- Providence, Hilton Lane (was Hulton Lane), Calvanistic Methodist
- St Paul, Peel Lane, Church of England, Peel
- Wharton Lane, Presbyterian
- Manchester Rd East, Wesleyan Methodist, Walkden
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Hulton.Church History
Church Records
- Providence, Hilton Lane (was Hulton Lane), Calvanistic Methodist
- St John the Baptist, Bolton Road, Church of England
- St Paul, Peel Lane, Church of England, Peel
- Ram St, Gospel Hall
- Kingdom Hall, Old Lane, Jehovah's Witness
- Kenyon Way, St George's Rd, Methodist
- Bethany Family Worship Centre, Kenyon Way, Pentecostal Evangelical
- Wharton Lane, Presbyterian
- Manchester Rd East, Primitive Methodist
- Memorial Road/Rushton Street, Primitive Methodist
- Worsley Rd North, Primitive Methodist
- Manchester Road East, Redeemed Christian Church of God
- Our Lady and the Lancashire Martyrs, Halstead Ave, Roman Catholic
- St Edmund, King and Martyr, Bridgewater St, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Old Lane, Roman Catholic
- Wharton, Highgate Lane, United Reformed
- Clegg's Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Manchester Rd East, Wesleyan Methodist, Walkden
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Hulton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Little Hulton area is Salford.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Little Hulton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Hulton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Little Hulton was a township in the parish of Deane.History
A description of Little Hulton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Little Hulton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD723036 (Lat/Lon: 53.528317, -2.419345), Little Hulton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Hulton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

