Little Lever

Select map to view larger area
Lever, Little, township and vil., Bolton le Moors par., SE. Lancashire, 3 miles SE. of Bolton, 807 ac., pop. 4413; P.O., T.O.; has cotton mills, paper works, chemical and bleaching works, and collieries.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Lever.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Lever area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Little Lever area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

Some pictures and historical information.

You can see pictures of Little Lever which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Lever to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Little Lever was a township in the parish of Bolton.

History

A description of Little Lever in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Little Lever and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD752073 (Lat/Lon: 53.561719, -2.375892), Little Lever which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Little Lever was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.