Littleborough

Select map to view larger area
LITTLEBOROUGH, a village and a chapelry in Rochdale parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Roch, the Rochdale canal, the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, and the Roman road to York, at the foot of Blackstone-Edge, 3 miles NE of Rochdale; is supposed, from its position on the Roman road, and from the discovery of some Roman antiquities in its neighbourhood, to stand on or near the site of a Roman station; is a large place sharing in the manufactures of Rochdale, and practically a suburb of that town; and has a railway station with telegraph, and a post office under Manchester. The chapelry contains also the hamlets of Gale, Shore, Durn, Featherstall, Rake, Chelburn, Smithy Bridge, Calder Brook, Summit, Whitelees, Laneside, and Sladen. Pop. in 1861, 4,860. Much of the surface is a fine valley, gemmed with mansions and villas. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 300.* Patron, the Vicar of Rochdale. The church succeeded modern edifice; and consists of nave, with tower and spire. There are chapels for Wesleyans, United Free Methodists, and others, an endowed school, and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Littleborough.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Littleborough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Littleborough area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Littleborough which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Littleborough to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Littleborough was a chapelry in the parish of Rochdale.

Maps

View maps of Littleborough and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD931164 (Lat/Lon: 53.644058, -2.105854), Littleborough which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Littleborough was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.