Liverpool
It stands on the Mersey, and by its position, and wealth, has become the second port in the kingdom. It is, on the whole, a very handsome and commodious town; and the public buildings are numerous, and highly ornamental to it. The churches, the municipal edifices, the custom-house, the exchange, the charitable institutions, the markets, and the theatres, seem to have been constructed for the gratification of taste, as well as for their various and peculiar uses. But the docks are the most remarkable feature of the town; and the construction of them has enabled it to take its distinguished position in the commerce of the world. Its inland trade is aided by the rivers Irwell and Weaver, by the canals, and by the railroads, which converge there. It is 206 miles from London. Population, 286,487.(From Barclay's Complete and Universal Dictionary of 1842.)
Archives and Libraries
Liverpool Record OfficeCity Libraries,
William Brown Street,
LIVERPOOL,
Merseyside,
L3 8EW
Tel: 0151 233 5817
E-mail: RecOffice.central.library@Liverpool.gov.uk
- Local Studies and Family History Service.
- Merseyside Maritime Museum, Albert Dock, Liverpool, L3 4AA Phone 0151 207 0001 Fax 0151 478 4590
- Sefton Libraries
Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Hunter St, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, St. Anne St, Church of England
- Our Lady and St Nicholas, Chapel Street, Church of England
- St Andrew, Warren Street, Church of England
- St Anne, St Anne St, Church of England
- St Anne (Richmond), Cazneau St, Church of England
- St Bride, Percy St, Church of England
- St Columba, Pleasant Street, Church of England
- St George, Derby Square, Castle St, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Old Haymarket, Church of England
- St Jude the Apostle, Hardwick St, Church of England
- St Luke, Bold St, Church of England
- St Mark, Upper Duke Street, Church of England
- St Martin in the Fields, Silvester Street, Church of England
- St Michael, Upper Pitt Street, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's Square, Church of England
- St Peter, Church St, Church of England
- St Philip, Hardman St, Church of England
- St Silas, Pembroke Place, Church of England
- St Simon, St Vincent Street, Church of England
- St Thomas, Park Lane, Church of England
- South Hill Rd, Congregational
- St Martin's Cemetery, Graveyard
- Great George St, Independent
- Newington Chapel, Renshaw Street, Independent
- Burial Ground, Oakes St, Jewish
- Canning St, Presbyterian
- Oldham St, Presbyterian
- Shaw St, Presbyterian
- St Andrew, Rodney St, Presbyterian
- St Anthony, Scotland Road, Roman Catholic
- St Francis Xavier, Salisbury Street, Roman Catholic
- St Nicholas, Hawke St, Copperas Hill, Roman Catholic
- St Peter, Seel Street, Roman Catholic
- Mount Pleasant, Scotch Presbyterian
- Hope St, Unitarian
- Renshaw Street, Unitarian
- Brunswick, Moss St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Upper Stanhope St, Wesleyan Methodist
The Lodge
Priory Road
Liverpool 4
Mike Faulkner is building a searchable database of St James Cemetery.
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Liverpool.Residents of the Liverpool Sheltering Home taken from the 1891 census.
Church History
Liverpool Anglican Cathedral, and a picture of the exterior, and the interior.Caryl Williams has produced a list of Liverpool churches with details of when they were founded.
A listing of churches in 1902, taken from Gores Directory.
Church Records
- Byrom St, Baptist
- Everton Rd, Baptist
- Lime St formerly Church Lane, Baptist
- Myrtle St, Baptist
- Pembroke Place, Baptist
- Prince's Gate, Baptist
- Shaw St, Baptist
- Mile End, Cazneau St, Baptist
- Catharine St, Calvinist Methodist
- Everton Brow, Calvinist Methodist
- Oakfield Rd, Calvinist Methodist
- Spellow Lane, Calvinist Methodist
- Canning Street, Catholic Apostolic
- Miranda Rd, Christ (Free) Church
- Christ Church, Great Homer St, Church of England
- Christ Church, Hunter St, Church of England
- Holy Innocents, Myrtle St, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, St. Anne St, Church of England
- Our Lady and St Nicholas, Chapel Street, Church of England
- St Alban (Bevington), Limekiln Lane, Church of England
- St Andrew, Warren Street, Church of England
- St Anne, St Anne St, Church of England
- St Anne (Richmond), Cazneau St, Church of England
- St Barnabas, Smithdown Rd, Church of England
- St Bartholomew, Naylor St, Scotland Rd, Church of England
- St Bride, Percy St, Church of England
- St Catherine, Abercromby Square, Church of England
- St Columba, Pleasant Street, Church of England
- St David, Brownlow Hill, Church of England
- St David, Hampstead Rd, Church of England
- St Deiniol, Upper Parliament St, Church of England
- St George, Derby Square, Castle St, Church of England
- St James the Less, Stanley Rd, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Old Haymarket, Church of England
- St Jude the Apostle, Hardwick St, Church of England
- St Luke, Bold St, Church of England
- St Mark, Upper Duke Street, Church of England
- St Martin in the Fields, Silvester Street, Church of England
- St Mary Magdalene, Kempston Street, Church of England
- St Matthew, Scotland Road, Church of England
- St Matthias, Great Howard Street, Church of England
- St Matthias, Love Lane, Church of England
- St Michael, Upper Pitt Street, Church of England
- St Nathaniel, Upper Parliament St, Church of England
- St Pancras, Lidderdale Road, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's Square, Church of England
- St Peter, Church St, Church of England
- St Philip, Hardman St, Church of England
- St Saviour, Huskisson Street, Church of England
- St Silas, Pembroke Place, Church of England
- St Simon, St Vincent Street, Church of England
- St Stephen, Byrom Street, Church of England
- St Thomas, Park Lane, Church of England
- St Titus, Portland Street, Church of England
- All Souls, Eaton St, Church of England, Vauxhall
- St Bartholomew, Naylor St, Church of England, Vauxhall
- Chadwick Mount, Congregational
- Everton Brow, Congregational
- South Hill Rd, Congregational
- Bethesda, Hotham St, Congregational
- Hanover, Mill St, Congregational
- Renshaw Street, German
- St Martin's Cemetery, Graveyard
- St Nicolas, Prince's Road, Prince's Park, Greek
- Benns Gardens, Independent
- Great Crosshall St, Independent
- Great George St, Independent
- Greenland St, Independent
- Bethesda, Duncan St East, Independent
- Newington Chapel, Renshaw Street, Independent
- Tetlow St, Independent Methodist
- Burial Ground, Oakes St, Jewish
- New Hebrew Congregation, Hope Place, Jewish
- Old Hebrew Congregation, Prince's Road, Jewish
- Mill Bank, Latter Day Saints
- Park Place, Methodist New Connexion
- St Domingo, Breckfield Rd North, Methodist New Connexion
- Lime St, Particular Baptist
- Canning St, Presbyterian
- Earle Road, Presbyterian
- Hope St, Presbyterian
- Kaye St, Presbyterian
- Oldham St, Presbyterian
- Paradise St, Presbyterian
- Prince's Rd, Presbyterian
- Queen's Rd, Presbyterian
- Shaw St, Presbyterian
- Vauxhall Rd, Presbyterian
- St Andrew, Rodney St, Presbyterian
- St Columba, Smithdown Gate, Presbyterian
- St George, Myrtle Street, Presbyterian
- St Peter, Silvester Street, Presbyterian
- Boundary St East, Primitive Methodist
- Church Road West, Primitive Methodist
- Everton Drive, Primitive Methodist
- Maguire St, Primitive Methodist
- Prince's Ave, Primitive Methodist
- Hall Lane, Reformed Presbyterian
- All Souls, Collingwood Street, Roman Catholic
- Holy Cross, Great Crosshall Street, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of Lourdes and St Bernard, Kingsley Road, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of Mount Carmel, High Park Street, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of Reconciliation, Eldon Street, Roman Catholic
- Sacred Heart, Hall Lane, Roman Catholic
- St Alban, Athol Street, Roman Catholic
- St Alphonsus, Great Mersey St, Roman Catholic
- St Anthony, Scotland Road, Roman Catholic
- St Augustine, Great Howard Street, Roman Catholic
- St Bridgid, Bevington Hill, Roman Catholic
- St Charles, Aigburth Road, Roman Catholic
- St Francis Xavier, Salisbury Street, Roman Catholic
- St Gerard Majella, Cranmer St, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Grosvenor Street, Roman Catholic
- St Malachy, Beaufort St, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Highfield St, Roman Catholic
- St Mary of the Angels, Fox St, Roman Catholic
- St Michael, West Derby Road, Roman Catholic
- St Nicholas, Hawke St, Copperas Hill, Roman Catholic
- St Peter, Seel Street, Roman Catholic
- St Philip-Neri, Catharine St, Roman Catholic
- St Sylvester, Silvester Street, Roman Catholic
- St Vincent of Paul, St James Street, Roman Catholic
- Park Lane, Scandinavian Church
- Mount Pleasant, Scotch Presbyterian
- Russell St, Scotch Presbyterian
- Hunter St, Society of Friends
- Bedford St North, Society of the New Church
- Benns Gardens, Unitarian
- Bond St, Unitarian
- Castle Hey, Unitarian
- Hamilton Road, Unitarian
- Hope St, Unitarian
- Renshaw Street, Unitarian
- Ullett Rd, Sefton Park, Unitarian
- Octagon, Temple Court, Unitarian
- Elizabeth St, United Free Gospel
- Upper Beau St, United Free Gospel
- Bostock St, United Methodist Free Church
- Grove St, United Methodist Free Church
- Netherfield Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Scotland Road, United Methodist Free Church
- Everton Rd, Universal Brotherhood
- Bold St, Universalists
- Great Crosshall St, Welsh Baptist
- June St, Edge Lane, Welsh Baptist
- Anfield Rd, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Chatham St, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Edge Lane, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Netherfield Rd North, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Newsham Park, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Webster Rd, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Victoria Chapel, Crosshall St, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Belmont Rd, Welsh Congregational
- Great Mersey St, Welsh Congregational
- Park Rd, Welsh Congregational
- Boundary St East, Welsh Wesleyan Mwthodist
- Granton Rd, Welsh Wesleyan Mwthodist
- Shaw St, Welsh Wesleyan Mwthodist
- Mount Zion, Prince's Ave, Welsh Wesleyan Mwthodist
- Aigburth St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Benns Gardens, Wesleyan Methodist
- Cardwell St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Cyprus Rd, Marsh Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Great Homer St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Leeds St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Lodge Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Margaret St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Picton Rd, Wavertree Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Pitt St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Rosalind St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Smithdown Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Townsend Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Whitefield Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Birch Memorial, Binns Rd, Edge Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Brunswick, Moss St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Central Hall, Mount Pleasant, Wesleyan Methodist
- Cranmer, Vauxhall Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- St Peter, High Park Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Templar Hall, Mill St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Trinity, Grove St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Soho St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Upper Stanhope St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Liverpool area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
There is a list detailing records of Catholic Churches in Liverpool.
The names of the Brides and Grooms extracted from the parish register of St.Mary's, Kirkdale, Liverpool, 1874-1883, as filmed by the LDS, on film #1545938.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Liverpool area is Liverpool.Description and Travel
Some pictures of Liverpool.Information about the Canning area of the city.
Genealogy
ENG-LIVERPOOL is a mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in the City of Liverpool, and surrounding areas.
The Merseyside Genealogy and History Forum has many topics and threads, look ups, Merseyside ancestors, Mersey Mariners and more and they also have a Merseyside Surnames board.
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Liverpool to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Liverpool was a township in the parish of Walton on the Hill.History
- National Museums Liverpool.
- Museum of Liverpool Life.
- Merseyside Maritime Museum.
- Port Cities has extensive information about the history of Liverpool and it's port.
"The Sights and Sounds of our City", an essay about the livelihood of the poor in 19th century Liverpool.
Local history from Mike Royden.
Maps
View maps of Liverpool and places within its boundaries.Military History
The Liverpool Scottish Regiment.Military Records
Regimental HQLiverpool Kings Regiment
Derby Square
Liverpool.
Newspapers
Caryl Williams has provided a number of items culled from Liverpool Mercury newspapers dated 1811-1943.
Various Merseyside newspaper extracts.
Occupations
LIVERPOOL PHOTOGRAPHERS. A database of Liverpool, England photo studios, to help you date photographs taken in this area.Poor Houses, Poor Law
The 19th Century Poor Law in Liverpool and its Hinterland: Towards the Origins of the Workhouse Infirmary.The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Liverpool workhouse.

