Longridge

Select map to view larger area
LONGRIDGE, a village and a chapelry in Ribchester parish, Lancashire. The village stands in the townships of Alston, Hothersall, and Dilworth, on the SW slope of Longridge fell, 1½ mile SW of the terminus of the Preston and Longridge railway, 2 N of the river Ribble, 3½ W by N of Ribchester, and 7 N E of Preston; is a populous and thriving place; carries on nail-making, cotton-spinning, and the manufacture of varions cotton fabrics; conducts a large trade in the transport, by railway, of building-stone from neighbouring quarries; and has a post office, under Preston, a railway station, and fairs on 16 Feb., 16 March, 16 April, Holy Monday, and 5 Nov. The railway to it from Preston was opened in 1840. The chapelry was constituted in 1861. Pop., 2,057. Houses, 402. Several reservoirs of the Preston water-works are here. Longridge fell is a hill about 5½ miles in length, extending north-eastward from Longridge village to the vicinity of the river Hodder at the boundary with Yorkshire. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 170. Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church was rebuilt in 1823; and consists of a nave, with a tower. There are an Independent chapel, built in 1865; a Wesleyan chapel, built in 1836; a Roman Catholic chapel, built in 1864, in lieu of a previous small one; and a national school, built in 1832.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Longridge.

Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Longridge area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures in an area centred on OS grid reference SD605369 (Lat/Lon: 53.826653, -2.600168) which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Longridge to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Longridge was located in the townships of Dilworth and Alston in the parish of Ribchester.

History

Maps

View maps of Longridge and places within its boundaries.

A map of Longridge around 1845.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD605369 (Lat/Lon: 53.826653, -2.600168), which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Longridge was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.