Longton
|
|
|
|
LONGTON, a village, a township-chapelry, and a subdistrict, in Preston district, Lancashire. The village stands adjacent to the head of the Ribble's estuary, 3½ miles W of Preston-Junction r. station, and 5 SW of Preston; is about 2 miles long; and has a post office under Preston. The chapelry comprises 3,132 acres of land, and 560 of water; and is in Penwortham parish. Real property, £6,784. Pop., 1,637. Houses, 310. The property is much subdivided. Malting is largely carried on; and there are two breweries. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £190. Patron, L. Rawstorne, Esq. The church was built in 1770, and is a good brick structure. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, a free grammar school, and charities £29. The sub-district comprises the parishes of Penwortham and Hoole. Acres, 14,240. Pop., 6,620. Houses, 1,204.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
The Library,Liverpool Road, Longton
PRESTON PR4 5HA
Telephone 01772 617401
Cemeteries
- St Andrew, Liverpool Road, Church of England
- St Oswald, Chapel Lane, Roman Catholic
- Chapel Lane, Longton, Woodland Burial Ground, Much Hoole
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Longton.Church History
Church Records
- St Andrew, Liverpool Road, Church of England
- All Saints, Station Road, Church of England, New Longton
- Chapel Lane, Primitive Methodist
- Chapel Lane, Primitive Methodist, New Longton
- Moss Lane, Primitive Methodist, New Longton
- St Oswald, Chapel Lane, Roman Catholic
- Marsh Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Chapel Lane, Longton, Woodland Burial Ground, Much Hoole
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Longton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Longton area is Preston and South RibbleDescription and Travel
You can see pictures of Longton which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Longton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Longton was a township in the parish of Penwortham.History
Maps
View maps of Longton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD477257 (Lat/Lon: 53.725065, -2.794139), Longton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Longton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

