Longworth

Select map to view larger area
LONGWORTH, a township in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire; 5 miles N by W of Bolton. Acres, 1,590. Real property, 1,145. Pop., 154. Houses, 23. A cotton-mill is here.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Longworth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Longworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Longworth area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Longworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Longworth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Longworth was a township in the parish of Bolton.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Longworth in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Longworth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD682168 (Lat/Lon: 53.646728, -2.482543), Longworth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Longworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.