Lostock

Select map to view larger area
LOSTOCK, a township in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire; on the Bolton and Preston railway, 4 miles W of Bolton. It is connected ecclesiastically with West Houghton chapelry. Acres, 1,426. Real property, 2,146. Pop., 580. Houses, 121. Lostock Hall here is a timbered house of 1563, with oriels; belonged to the Andertons; and passed to the Blundells. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Lostock.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lostock area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Lostock area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lostock which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lostock to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Lostock was a township in the parish of Bolton. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Lostock in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Lostock and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD663088 (Lat/Lon: 53.574704, -2.510416), Lostock which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lostock was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.