Lower Allithwaite

Select map to view larger area
Allithwaite, Lower and Upper, 2 townships and eccl. dist. (St Mary), N. Lancash.-- L.A., 3211 ac. and 4569 ac. foreshore, pop. 975; U.A., 2682 ac., pop. 713; eccl. dist., pop. 577; P.O. At low water a road crosses Morecambe Bay to Bolton-le-Sands.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Lower Allithwaite.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lower Allithwaite area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Lower Allithwaite area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lower Allithwaite which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lower Allithwaite to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Lower Allithwaite was a township in the parish of Cartmel.

Maps

View maps of Lower Allithwaite and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD386766 (Lat/Lon: 54.181495, -2.942297), Lower Allithwaite which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lower Allithwaite was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.