Lower Booths

Select map to view larger area
BOOTHS (Lower), a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; 1¾ mile ENE of Baxenden r. station, and 4 SSW of Burnley. Acres, 630. Real property, 12,102. Pop., 4,655. Houses, 933. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in cotton factories.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Rawtenstall library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for LowerBooths.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lower Booths area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Lower Booths area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lower Booths which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lower Booths to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Lower Booths was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Lower Booths and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD809239 (Lat/Lon: 53.711164, -2.290863), Lower Booths which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lower Booths was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.