Lower Darwen

Select map to view larger area
DARWEN (Lower), a township and a chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Blackburn and Bolton railway, 2 miles S by E of Blackburn; and has a post office under Blackburn, and a r. station. Acres, 2, 490. Real property, 10,322. Pop., 3,301. Houses, 623. There are cotton-mills, extensive paper-works, and some other manufactories. The chapelry was constituted in 1842. Pop. 2,081. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Manchester. Value, 150. Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was built in 1830, at a cost of 5,491. There are a Wesleyan chapel and three public schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Darwen library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Lower Darwen.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lower Darwen area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Lower Darwen area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lower Darwen which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lower Darwen to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Lower Darwen was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Lower Darwen and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD691251 (Lat/Lon: 53.721382, -2.469758), Lower Darwen which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lower Darwen was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.