Lowick
|
|
|
|
LOWICK, a township-chapelry in Ulverstone parish, Lancashire; on the river Crake, 5 miles N of Ulverstone r. station. Post town, Newton-in-Cartmel. Acres, 1,900. Real property, £2,382. Pop., 468. Houses, 86. The property is much subdivided. The manor belongs to the Gaskarth family. Lowick Bridge, ¾ of a mile N of the church, commands a fine view of Coniston-water and Coniston-fells. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Valne, £104. Patrons, Mrs. Gaskarth and sisters. The church is a small edifice, covered, over both walls and roof with blue slate. Charities, £6.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.Cemeteries
- St Luke, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Lowick.Church History
Church Records
- St Luke, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lowick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Lowick area is Ulverston.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Lowick which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lowick to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Lowick was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Ulverston.Maps
View maps of Lowick and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD289860 (Lat/Lon: 54.264708, -3.093126), Lowick which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lowick was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

