Lowton
|
|
|
|
LOWTON, a village and a parish in Leigh district, Lancashire. The village stands 1 mile E by N of Golborne r. station, and 3¾ SW by W of Leigh; and has a post office under Newton-le-Willows. The parish includes the chapelry of Lowton-St. Mary, and comprises 1,824 acres. Real property, £6,148. Pop. in 1851, 2,140; in 1861, 2,384. Houses, 492. The property is much subdivided. Lowton Hall and Byrom Hall are ancient mansions, now used as farm-houses. There is a cotton mill. The head-living is a rectory, and that of St. Mary is a vicarage, in the diocese of Chester. Value of the rectory, £250; * of the vicarage, £127. Patron of the former, the Earl of Derby; of the latter, Miss M. Leigh. The parish church is an old building of brick and stone. St. Mary's church was erected in 1861; is a stone structure, in the early English style; and consists of nave, aisle, and chancel, with porch and belfry. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, an endowed school, and charities £50.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Lowton.Church History
Church Records
- St Luke, Slag Lane, Church of England
- St Mary, Newton Rd, Church of England
- Congregational
- Newton Rd, Independent Methodist
- Newton Rd, Primitive Methodist
- St Catherine of Siena, Newton Rd, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lowton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Lowton area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Lowton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lowton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Lowton was a township in the parish of Winwick.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Lowton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ622975 (Lat/Lon: 53.472858, -2.570964), Lowton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lowton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

