Lund

Select map to view larger area
LUND, a chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; at the head of the Ribble estuary, near the Preston and Wyre railway, 3 miles ESE of Kirkham. It was constituted in 1840. Post town, Kirkham, under Preston. Rated property, 7,429. Pop., 733. Houses, 138. Much of the property belongs to Col. J. T. Clifton. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 364. Patron, Christ Church, Oxford. The church was rebuilt in 1824.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Lund.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lund area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Lund area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lund which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lund to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Lund chapel was sited in the township of Clifton with Salwick in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Lund and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD463313 (Lat/Lon: 53.775251, -2.816330), Lund which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lund was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.