Lydiate
|
|
|
|
LYDIATE, a village and a chapelry in Halsall parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 2¾ miles W of Town-Green r. station, and 4¼ SW of Ormskirk; and has a post office under Ormskirk. The chapelry comprises 1,995 acres. Real property, £6,018. Pop., 848. Houses, 152. The property is divided among a few. The manor belongs to T. W. Blundell, Esq. Lydiate Hall is now a farmhouse. Lydiate abbey was in the course of erection at the Reformation; was left uncompleted at the dissolution; and is now a fine ivy-clad ruin, including S wall and castellated tower. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £150. Patron, the Rector of Halsall. The church was built in 1841; is in the pointed style; and comprises two aisles and a chancel, with a pinnacled tower. A Roman Catholic church was built in 1853; and consists of nave, three aisles, and chancel, with tower, and spire. There are a parochial school and a Roman Catholic school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Lydiate.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lydiate area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Lydiate area is Sefton South.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Lydiate which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lydiate to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Lydiate was a township in the parish of Halsall.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Lydiate and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD375045 (Lat/Lon: 53.533413, -2.944444), Lydiate which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lydiate was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

