Maghull
|
|
|
|
MAGHULL, a township-chapelry in Halsall parish, Lancashire; on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and on the Liverpool and Ormskirk railway, 5 miles SSW of Ormskirk. It has a station on the railway, and a postoffice under Liverpool. Acres, 2,073. Real property, £8,439. Pop., 1,144. Houses, 196. The property is much subdivided. Maghull Hall is the seat of B. French, Esq.; Manor House, of H. M'Elroy, Esq.; and Moss-Side House, of T. Harrison, Esq. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £155. Patron, the Rector of Halsall. The church is a good plain edifice, of varions dates. There are a national school, and charities £4.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.Cemeteries
- St Andrew, Damfield Lane, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Maghull.Church History
Church Records
- St Andrew, Damfield Lane, Church of England
- St James, Green Lane, Green Park, Church of England
- St Peter, Moorhey Road, Church of England
- Primitive Methodist
- St George, Station Road, Roman Catholic
- Liverpool Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Maghull area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The registers of the parish church, St Andrew, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.
- Volume M2 - Bap 1663-1812, Mar 1660-1754, Bur 1663-1812.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Maghull area is Sefton South.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Maghull which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Maghull to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Maghull was a township in the parish of Halsall.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Maghull and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD375020 (Lat/Lon: 53.510944, -2.943945), Maghull which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Maghull was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

