Manchester
|
|
|
|
MANCHESTER, a city, a township, a district, a parish, and a diocese in Lancashire. The city stands at an intersection of Roman roads, on the rivers Irwell, Irk, and Medlock, at the termini of varions canals, and at a convergence of railways, 31 miles W by N of Liverpool, 85 NNW of Birmingham, and 188¼ NW of London. Railways go from it, in all directions, to all parts of the kingdom; canals give it water communication with the eastern and the western seas, and with most parts of England; and conveyances, of all suitable kinds, connect it with places not touched by railway or canal.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...
Archives and Libraries
- Greater Manchester County Record Office
- Manchester Archives and Local Studies,
Manchester Central Library,
St Peter's Square,
Manchester
M2 5PD
Tel: 0161 234 1979/1980
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk - Chetham's library.
- Stretford Library,
Kingsway,
STRETFORD -
Tel: 0161 865 2218
Cemeteries
- Gadsbys Chapel, Back Lane, Baptist
- Coldhouse, Thorniley Brow, Baptist, Shudehill
- St Matthew, Liverpool Rd, Church of England, Campfield
- St Ann, St Ann's Sq, Church of England
- St George, Oldham Rd, Church of England
- St James, George Street, Church of England
- St John, Byrom Street, Church of England
- St Mary, The Parsonage, Church of England
- St Mary, St Denys and St George (Cathedral), Victoria St, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's Sq, Church of England
- Hunter's Croft, Cannon St, Independent
- Roby Chapel, Grosvenor Street, Independent
- Rochdale Rd, Particular Baptist
- St Patrick, Livesey Street, Roman Catholic, Collyhurst
- St Augustine, Granby Row, Roman Catholic
- St Mary (The Hidden Gem), Mulberry Street, Roman Catholic
- Jackson's Row, Society of Friends
- Mount Street, Society of Friends
- New Jerusalem Church, Peter St, Swedenborgian
- Cross Street/King St, Unitarian
- Mosley St, Unitarian
- Gt Bridgewater St, Wesleyan Methodist
- St. Mary's Parsonage
- St. Ann's Manchester
- Christ Church, Hulme
- Cross Street, (Unitarian)
- Platt Chapel, Wilmslow Road, Rusholme (Unitarian)
- Manchester Cathedral
- Dob Lane Chapel, Failsworth (Unitarian)
- St. Augustine's R.C. Granby Row
- Grosvenor Street Chapel and Roby Sunday School (Congregationalist)
- St. James's, Didsbury
- St. John's, Deansgate
- St. Peter's, Mosley Street
- All Saint's, Oxford Road, Chorlton on Medlock
- Every Street, Ancoats (Non-denominational)
- Rusholme Road, Chorlton on Medlock (Non-conformist)
- Manchester General, Harpurhey (Non-denominational)
- Ardwick, Lord Street, Hyde Road (Non-denominational)
- St. Luke's, Chorlton on Medlock
- Old Moat Lane Burial Ground, Withington (Methodist)
- St. Peter's Blackley
- St. Michael's Angel Street and Style Street
- All Saints, Newton Heath, Orford Road
The following have been transcribed but are waiting to be bound
- Unitarian Burial Ground, Blackley
- St. Barnabas, South Street, Openshaw
- St. Clement's, Old Church Yard, Chorlton Green, Chorlton cum Hardy
- Christ church, Harpurhey
- St. Saviour's, Plymouth Grove
- All Saint's, Newton Heath "Old Burial Ground"
- Cheetham Hill Wesleyan Burial Ground
- St. Jame's, Gorton
- St. Mark's, Cheetham
- Ardwick Cemetery (1838-1968)
- Cheetham Hill Weslyan Cemetery (1815-1968)
- Rusholme Road Cemetery (1823-1933)
- Also Records of Withington Workhouse
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Manchester.Church History
Details about Manchester church history.Church Records
- Covenant Community Chapel,
- Elm St, Oldham Rd, Baptist
- George Street, Baptist
- Gt Mount Street, Baptist
- Oak St, Green St, Baptist
- St George's Rd/Rochdale Rd, Baptist
- Tib Lane, Baptist
- Gadsbys Chapel, Back Lane, Baptist
- Coldhouse, Thorniley Brow, Baptist, Shudehill
- Fourth, Peter St, Church of Christ, Scientist
- St Martin, German St, Church of England, Ancoats
- St Matthew, Liverpool Rd, Church of England, Campfield
- Albert Memorial, Queen's Park, Church of England, Collyhurst
- St Catherine, Collyhurst Road, Church of England, Collyhurst
- St George in the Fields, Oldham Rd, Church of England, Collyhurst
- St James, Teignmouth Street, Church of England, Collyhurst
- St Oswald, Rochdale Road, Church of England, Collyhurst
- The Saviour, Eggington Street, Church of England, Collyhurst
- St Ann, St Ann's Sq, Church of England
- St Clement, Stevenson Sq, Church of England
- St George, Oldham Rd, Church of England
- St James, George Street, Church of England
- St John, Byrom Street, Church of England
- St Mary, The Parsonage, Church of England
- St Mary, St Denys and St George (Cathedral), Victoria St, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's Sq, Church of England
- St Simon and St Jude, Granby Row, Church of England
- Collyhurst Street, Congregational, Collyhurst
- Ashley Lane / Parker St, Congregational
- Oldham Rd, Independent, Collyhurst
- Mosley St, Independent
- Hunter's Croft, Cannon St, Independent
- Knott Mill, Bridgewater Viaduct, Independent
- Roby Chapel, Grosvenor Street, Independent
- Hanover Street, Independent Methodist
- Gt Synagogue, Halliwell Street, Jewish
- Reform Synagogue, Jackson's Row, Jewish
- Rochdale Road, Lady Huntingdon's New Connexion, Collyhurst
- St Peter's St, Lady Huntingdons Connexion
- Wood Street Mission, Wood Street, Manchester and Salford Street Childrens Mission
- Tonman Street, Methodist Association, Campfield
- Lever Street, Methodist Association
- Ebenezer, Peter St, Methodist New Connexion
- Mount Zion, Nicholas Croft, High St, Methodist New Connexion
- Mount Zion, Oldham St, Methodist New Connexion
- Fetter Lane off Minshull St, Moravian
- McCormick St, Oldham Rd, New Connexion Baptist
- Rochdale Rd, Particular Baptist
- Bethesda, Oldham St, Particular Baptist
- Ebenezer, York Street, Particular Baptist
- St Andrew, Lloyd St, Presbyterian
- Collyhurst St, Rochdale Rd, Primitive Methodist, Collyhurst
- Teignmouth Street, Primitive Methodist, Collyhurst
- St Casimir, Oldham Road, Roman Catholic, Collyhurst
- St Malachy, Eggington Street, Roman Catholic, Collyhurst
- St Patrick, Livesey Street, Roman Catholic, Collyhurst
- St Augustine, Granby Row, Roman Catholic
- St Chad, Rook Street, Roman Catholic
- St Mary (The Hidden Gem), Mulberry Street, Roman Catholic
- Thorniley Brow, Scotch Baptist, Shudehill
- St Peters Sq, Scotch Presbyterian
- Jackson's Row, Society of Friends
- Mount Street, Society of Friends
- Central Church, Atkinson Street, Spiritualist
- New - Church House, 34 John Dalton Street, Swedenborgian
- New Jerusalem Church, Peter St, Swedenborgian
- Oldham Rd, Unitarian, Collyhurst
- Cross Street/King St, Unitarian
- Mosley St, Unitarian
- New Bridge Street, Unitarian
- Oldham Rd, United Methodist, Collyhurst
- Collyhurst, Queens Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Harpurhey
- Oldham Road, United Methodist Free Church
- Granby Row, Welsh Baptist
- Cooper Street, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Green St/Tib Street, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Oak Street, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Gartside St, Welsh Independent
- Teignmouth Street, Welsh Wesleyan Methodist, Collyhurst
- St David, Hardman St (formerly Parliament St), Welsh Wesleyan Methodist
- Eggington Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Collyhurst
- Oldham Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Collyhurst
- Birchin Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Gt Bridgewater St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Marlborough St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Swan St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Albert Hall and Aston Institute, Peter St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Central Hall, Oldham St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Livesey St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Manchester area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Manchester area is Manchester.Description and Travel
Some pictures of Manchester.Gazetteers
A gazetteer of places in the modern Greater Manchester.Genealogy
Kim & Claire Travis have abstracted all genealogical data from "Genealogical memorials of the Travis family of Blackley, Manchester, Inchfield, Walsden, Todmorden, Heyside, High Crompton, Oldham, &co, and connections with other local families" by John Travis, 1893.
Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Manchester contained the townships of Manchester, Blackley, Moston, Failsworth, Crumpsall, Broughton, Salford, Stretford, Cheetham, Harpurhey, Newton Heath, Beswick, Bradford, Droylsden, Openshaw, Hulme, Chorlton on Medlock, Ardwick, Gorton, Denton, Haughton, Moss Side, Rusholme, Kirkmanshulme, Levenshulme, Reddish, Chorlton cum Hardy, Withington, Burnage, Didsbury, Heaton Norris,Manchester used to be in the county of Lancashire until 1974 when it became part of the new county of Greater Manchester which is divided into 10 metropolitan boroughs. These are Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, and Wigan. The total population is over 2.5 million.
Each Metropolitan Borough comprises a big town together with the surrounding smaller towns, villages and countryside. Most of the names are self explanatory. For example the metropolitan borough of Stockport includes the towns of Stockport, Cheadle, Gatley, Bramhall, Hazel Grove, Marple, Romiley, Bredbury, etc.
The names of two of the metropolitan boroughs are not obvious. A neutral name was chosen because, at the time they were created, there was no agreement on the town to be put forward as the centre. However, Tameside is based on Ashton-under-Lyne, and Trafford is centred on Stretford.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of the city of Manchester in 1865 taken from Slater's Directory, gives an interesting view of what it was like in Victorian times.A description of Manchester in times past.
A description of Manchester in the 19th century.
Maps
View maps of Manchester and places within its boundaries.Military History
A brief history of the Manchester Regiment.The National Roll of the Great War, Manchester.

