Manchester Census

The census records that have been made available for Manchester are:

YearSub DistrictPRO pieceLDS filmIndexes, transcripts etc.
1841DeansgateHO107/569-70  
London RoadHO107/571-2  
Market StreetHO107/573  
St GeorgeHO107/574-5  
1851DeansgateHO107/222787237-8 A surname index (Vol 6) has been produced by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.

The original census returns have been flood damaged in storage, and some sections are unreadable or have never been filmed. However the Manchester & Lancashire FHS have transcribed a considerable portion of this from the original records at the National Archives The transcripts are available from the society as publication 1360 Deansgate (1 fiche).

London RoadHO107/222887239 A surname index (Vol 53) has been produced by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.

The original census returns have been flood damaged in storage, and some sections are unreadable or have never been filmed. However the Manchester & Lancashire FHS have transcribed a considerable portion of this from the original records at the National Archives The transcripts are available from the society as publication 1353 London Road (4 fiche).

Market StreetHO107/222987240-1 A surname index (Vol 2) has been produced by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
St GeorgeHO107/223087242-3 A surname index (Vol 4) has been produced by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.

The original census returns have been flood damaged in storage, and some sections are unreadable or have never been filmed. However the Manchester & Lancashire FHS have transcribed a considerable portion of this from the original records at the National Archives The transcripts are available from the society as publication 1386 St George (20 fiche).

1861DeansgateRG9/2938-43  A full transcript of people born in Ireland (Deansgate Vol 4) has been produced by the Irish Ancestry Branch of the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
London RoadRG9/2944-8  
Market StreetRG9/2949-54  
St GeorgeRG9/2955-64  
1871DeansgateRG10/4036-9  
London RoadRG10/4040-3  
Market StreetRG10/4044-6  
St GeorgeRG10/4047-55  
1881DeansgateRG11/3988-90  Indexes, and transcriptions can be found in the Lancashire section of the fiche produced by the 1881 census project and on the CD available from the The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Market StreetRG11/3991-7 
St GeorgeRG11/3998-4008 
1891CentralRG12/3236-416098346-51 
St GeorgeRG12/3242-506098352-60 
1901   Can be searched online at the National Archives

N.B. Please remember that all transcripts and indexes are subject to error or mistakes. They are compiled from film copies of handwritten documents that in some cases are very hard to read. So use them as finding aids, and always check with the original documents, even for the 1881 census on CD.

The only census which can be easily searched is that for 1881. All the rest require searching page by page of handwritten information. The effort required is considerably reduced if a surname or street index exists, but it is still not a trivial task. Please bear this in mind before requesting lookups via e-mail lists or newsgroups.

If you want to look at the census then try the following places:

If you want to purchase your own copy of the census film/fiche, then you obtain a copy from the National Archives/Public Record Office.

If you know of the existence of any other indexes or transcripts, then let us know and we can add their location to this page.