Marton

Marton has now been swallowed up by Blackpool, which grew into a large town by the end of the 19th century.

Select map to view larger area
MARTON, a township-chapelry in Poulton-le-Fylde parish, Lancashire; on the coast, from 1 mile to 5 miles SE of Blackpool r. station. It consists of the hamlets of Great Marton and Little Marton; and its Post town is Blackpool, under Preston. Acres, 5,452; of which 805 are water. Real property of Great M., 4,400. Pop., 1,258. Houses, 251. Real property of Little M., 3,612. Pop., 433. Houses, 68. The manor belongs to Col. J. T. Clifton. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 125.* Patron, the Vicar of Poulton. The church was built in 1804; was enlarged, and had a tower added, about 1863; and is a plain brick structure. There are an endowed school with 100 a year, and some small charities.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Blackpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Marton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Marton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Marton area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Marton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Marton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Marton was a township in the parish of Poulton le Fylde.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Marton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD325325 (Lat/Lon: 53.784427, -3.025962), Marton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Marton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.