Mawdesley

Select map to view larger area
MAWDESLEY, a township and a chapelry in Croston parish, Lancashire. The township lies on a branch of the river Douglas, 2 miles E by S of Rufford r. station, and 6 WSW of Chorley. Acres, 2,887. Real property, 5,364. Pop., 912. Houses, 169. The manor belongs to Sir Thomas Hesketh, Bart., and John R. De Trafford, Esq. Mawdesley Hall is an ancient mansion, on a sandstone rock; was formerly the seat of the Mawdesley family; and is now the residence of P. Blundell, Esq. The chapelry is more extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1843. Post-town, Ormskirk. Pop., 1,189. Houses, 217. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 165. * Patron, the Rector of Croston. The church was built in 1840; is in the early English style; and consists of nave only, with tower and small spire. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics, a national school, a free school, and charities 4. The R. Catholic chapel was built in 1830; is a handsome edifice, with 500 sittings; and has attached to it a large burying-ground.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Mawdesley.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Mawdesley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Mawdesley area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Mawdesley which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Mawdesley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Mawdesley was a township in the parish of Croston.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Mawdesley and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD491146 (Lat/Lon: 53.625442, -2.771099), Mawdesley which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Mawdesley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.