Medlar with Wesham

Select map to view larger area
MEDLAR-WITH-WESHAM, a township in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; around Kirkham r. station, from ½ a mile to 2½ miles N of Kirkham. It has a postal letterbox, at the r. station, under Preston; and has there also a hotel. Acres, 1,971. Real property, 3,441. Pop. in 1851, 170; in 1861, 563. Houses, 101. The increase of pop. arose from additional employment in cotton mills. The manor, with Mowbreck Hall, belongs to J. T. Fazakerley-Westby, Esq. The Hall is a fine old edifice of red brick, castellated with stone; and contains a domestic Roman Catholic chapel. A large school, used also as a lecture hall, and belonging to the Independents, was built at Wesham in 1864.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Medlar with Wesham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wesham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Medlar with Wesham area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Wesham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Medlar with Wesham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Medlar with Wesham was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Wesham and places within its boundaries.

A map of Wesham around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD417333 (Lat/Lon: 53.792730, -2.886501), Wesham which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Fylde workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Medlar with Wesham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.