Melling in Halsall

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
MELLING, a township-chapelry in Halsall parish, Lancashire; on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, adjacent to the river Alt, and to the East Lancashire railway, 1 mile SE of Maghull r. station, and 7 NNE of Liverpool. It has a postal letter-box under Liverpool. Acres, 2,120. Real property, £5,430; of which £100 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 662; in 1861, 728. Houses, 126. The chief landowners are Lord Skelmersdale, the Earl of Derby, and T. W. Blundell, Esq. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £120. Patron, the Rector of Halsall. The church was rebuilt in 1834; is in the pointed style; and contains several handsome tablets. There are a national schoo1, with £25 a year from endowment, and a Roman Catholic school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Melling in Halsall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Melling area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Melling in Halsall area is Sefton South.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Melling in Halsall to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Melling was a township in the parish of Halsall.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Melling and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Melling in Halsall was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.