Melling in Lonsdale

Select map to view larger area
MELLING, a village, a township, and a parish in the district and county of Lancaster. The village stands near the Furness and Midland railway, 2 miles NNE of Hornby; and has a r. station. The township bears the name of Melling and Wrayton, and comprises 1,120 acres. Real property, 1,618. Pop., 169. Houses, 35. The parish contains also the township of Hornby, which has a post office under Lancaster, and the townships of Farleton, Roeburndale, Wennington, Wray-with-Botton, and Arkholme-with-Cawood. Acres, 23,474. Real property, 18,046; of which 40 are in mines, and 60 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 2,204; in 1861, 2,013. Houses, 393. The property is subdivided. Much of the land, with Hornby Castle, belongs to John Foster, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 145. Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church is early perpendicular English; includes a chantry at the E end of the S aisle; has ten stained-glass windows; and was repaired in 1855. The chapelries of Hornby, Arkholme, and Wray are separate benefices. Chapels for Wesleyans and United Free Methodists are in Wray; a Roman Catholic chapel is in Hornby; and a slightly endowed school and charities 67 are in Melling.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Melling with Wrayton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Melling area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Melling in Lonsdale area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Melling which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Melling in Lonsdale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Melling contained the townships of Melling with Wrayton, Wennington, Arkholme with Cawood, Hornby, Farleton, Roeburndale and Wray with Botton.

Maps

View maps of Melling and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD598711 (Lat/Lon: 54.134169, -2.616752), Melling which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Melling in Lonsdale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.