Mellor

Select map to view larger area
MELLOR, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Blackburn parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands 2½ miles NW of Blackburn r. station. The township contains also part of the hamlet of Mellor-Brook, which has a post office under Blackburn. Acres, 1,830. Real property, 4,080. Pop. in 1851, 1,668; in 1861, 1,398. Houses, 288. The decrease of pop. was caused by the removal of families to Blackburn. The manor belongs to the representatives of the late J. F. Hinder, Esq. Mellor House is the seat of H. Hargreaves, Esq. Mellor-Moor has traces of a Roman camp, and commands a fine view to the Irish sea. There are stone quarries and some mineral springs. A cotton mill is at Mellor-Brook, and hand-loom weaving is carried on. The chapelry includes also the township of Ramsgrave, and was constituted in 1842. Pop., 1,718. Houses, 351. The manor of Ramsgrave belongs to Lord de Tabley. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150. Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was built in 1829, at a cost of 5,275; is in the pointed style; and consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with tower and lofty spire. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school. The sub-district contains also the townships of Balderstone, Osbaldeston, and Clayton-in-le-Dale. Acres, 6,227. Pop., 2,863. Houses, 577.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Mellor.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Mellor area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Mellor area is Preston & South Ribble.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Mellor which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Mellor to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Mellor was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Mellor and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD652308 (Lat/Lon: 53.772367, -2.529501), Mellor which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Mellor was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.