Middle Hulton

Select map to view larger area
HULTON (MIDDLE), a township in Deane parish, Lancashire; near the Bolton and Leigh railway, 3½ miles SSW of Bolton. Acres, 1,280. Real property, 6,446; of which 3,591 are in mines, and 100 in quarries. Pop., 790. Houses, 157. The manor belongs to the Earl of Ellesmere. Leigh's charities here yield 67 a year.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Middle Hulton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Middle Hulton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Middle Hulton area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Middle Hulton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Middle Hulton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Middle Hulton was a township in the parish of Deane.

History

A description of Middle Hulton in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Middle Hulton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD702053 (Lat/Lon: 53.543482, -2.451186), Middle Hulton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Middle Hulton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.