Middleton
|
|
|
MIDDLETON, a town, a township, a sub-district, and a parish, in Lancashire. The town stands in a fertile vale, on the river Irk, at the terminus of a short branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, near the Rochdale canal, 6 miles N by E of Manchester; took its name from being situated in the centre of several circumjacent towns; was only a village of 20 houses in 1770; has risen, since 1780, into a populous seat of manufacture; is now an important place, nearly a mile in length, well supplied with water, thoroughly drained, and under the management of a local improvement board by act of 1861; is so conjoined with Tonge in both proximity and trade as practically to include or absorb that town; carries on industry in extensive silk factories, in numerous large cotton factories, in calico-printing, bleaching, and dyeing establishments, in iron foundries, and in machinemaking establishments; publishes a weekly newspaper; is a seat of petty sessions; and has a post office under Manchester, a railway station with telegraph, several good inns, a police station, a market-house, public baths, two churches, five dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chape1, a grammar school, two national and infant schools, a free library, a church reading-room and library, an agricultural society, and a floral and horticultural society.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Middleton library.Cemeteries
- Boarshaw Road, Cemetery
- St Leonard, St Leonard's Square, Church of England
- St Gabriel, Greenhill Rd, Church of England, Middleton Junction
- All Saints, Manchester Old Road, Church of England, Rhodes
- Lees St, Wesleyan Methodist, Middleton Junction
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Middleton.Church History
Church Records
- Temple Street, Baptist
- St Margaret, Stanycliffe Lane, Church of England, Boarshaw
- St Thomas, Heywood Old Road, Church of England, Bowlee
- All Saints and Martyrs, Wood St, Church of England, Langley
- St Aidan, Millbeck Road, Church of England, Langley
- St Leonard, St Leonard's Square, Church of England
- St Gabriel, Greenhill Rd, Church of England, Middleton Junction
- Holy Trinity, Sunny Brow, Church of England, Parkfield
- All Saints, Manchester Old Road, Church of England, Rhodes
- The River, Martindale Crescent, Community Church, Langley
- Providence, Market Place, Congregational
- Salem, Manchester Rd, Congregational
- St Stephen, High Street, Countess of Huntingdons Connexion
- Hilton Fold Lane, Jehovah's Witness
- Ashton Lane, Latter Day Saints
- Windermere Road, Methodist, Langley
- Grimshaw Lane, Methodist, Middleton Junction
- Green St, Particular Baptist
- Grimshaw Lane, Primitive Methodist, Bowlee
- Heywood Old Road, Primitive Methodist, Bowlee
- Boarshaw Road, Primitive Methodist
- Morton Street, Primitive Methodist
- Jumbo, Primitive Methodist
- Chapel Street, Primitive Methodist, Rhodes
- The Shepherd's House, Long St, Redeemed Christian Church of God
- St Agnes, Whalley Road, Roman Catholic, Hollins
- St Columba, Windermere Road, Roman Catholic, Langley
- Our Lady of the Assumption, Wood Street, Roman Catholic
- St John Fisher, Boarshaw Road, Roman Catholic
- St Peter, Taylor Street, Roman Catholic
- Manchester Old Rd, Swedenborgian
- Wood Street, Swedenborgian
- Egerton Street, Swedenborgian, Rhodes
- Old Road, Unitarian
- Hollin Lane, Hebers, United Methodist Free Church
- Sadler St, United Methodist Free Church
- Holy Innocents, Oldham Rd, Unknown
- Long Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wood Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Lees St, Wesleyan Methodist, Middleton Junction
- Manchester Old Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Rhodes
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Middleton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Offices covering the Middleton area are Rochdale and Oldham.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Middleton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Middleton contained the townships of Middleton, Ashworth, Birtle cum Bamford, Great Lever, Ainsworth, Hopwood, Pilsworth and Thornham,Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

