Milnrow
|
|
|
|
MILNROW, a village and a chapelry-in Butterworth township, Rochdale parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Beil, near the Rochdale canal, and near the Oldham and Rochdale branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 2 miles ESE of Rochdale; is a seat of extensive manufacture, doing large business in the woollen trade; and has a station with telegraph on the railway, and a post office under Rochdale. John Collier, better known as "Tim Bobbin", author of poems in the Lancashire dialect, was for 57 years a schoolmaster in the village; and the Rev. Canon Raines, distinguished for antiquarian knowledge and research, has thrown lustre upon it. The acreage of the chapelry is returned with the parish. Rated property, £22,245. Pop., 6,200. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300. Patron, the Vicar of Rochdale. The church was built in 1798, and was about to be rebuilt in 1867. There are several dissenting chapels, a national school, and a British school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.Cemeteries
- St James, St. James' Street, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Milnrow.Church History
Church Records
- St James, St. James' Street, Church of England
- St Stephen, Newhey Rd, Congregational
- New St, Evangelical
- Rochdale Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Milnrow area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Milnrow area is Rochdale.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Milnrow which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Milnrow to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Milnrow was a chapelry in the township of Butterworth in the parish of Rochdale.Maps
View maps of Milnrow and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD926126 (Lat/Lon: 53.609895, -2.113326), Milnrow which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Milnrow was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

