Mitton

Select map to view larger area
MITTON-HENTHORN AND COLDCOTES, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; at the confluence of the rivers Hodder and Ribble, contiguous to Great Mitton township, 2¾ miles SW of Clitheroe. Acres, 1,450. Real property, 970. Pop., 62. Houses, 10. The manor, with Mitton Hall, belongs to J. W. Aspinall, Esq. Mitton here is often called Little Mitton. A cotton mill is at Henthorn. An inn adjoins the bridge at the communication of Great Mitton, and is much frequented by anglers.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Mitton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Mitton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Mitton area is Ribble Valley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Mitton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Mitton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Mitton was a Lancashire township in the parish of Great Mitton in the West Riding of Yorkshire.

History

Little Mitton Hall.

Maps

View maps of Mitton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD717385 (Lat/Lon: 53.841968, -2.431591), Mitton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858,Mitton was in the Archdeaconry of York. The original wills for the Archdeaconry of York are held at the Borthwick Institute.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.