Moston
|
|
|
|
Moston, township and ry. sta., Manchester par., SE. Lancashire - township, 1297 ac., pop. 3466; the sta. is 4½ miles NE. of Victoria sta., Manchester.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester Local Studies library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Moston.Church History
Church Records
- St Luke, Kenyon Lane, Church of England, Lightbowne
- St John, Ashley Lane, Church of England
- St Mary, Nuthurst Rd, Church of England
- St Chad, Hazeldene Rd, Church of England, New Moston
- Kenyon Lane, Evangelical, Lightbowne
- Eastwood Road, Full Gospel Church, New Moston
- St Mary's Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- St George, Moston Lane, Presbyterian
- Lightbowne Road, Primitive Methodist
- Eastwood Road, Primitive Methodist, New Moston
- St Dunstan, Moston Lane, Roman Catholic
- St John Vianney, Poynter Street, Roman Catholic
- St Margaret Mary, St Margaret's Road, Roman Catholic, New Moston
- Church Lane, Spiritualist
- Gill Street, United Methodist Free Church
- St Mary's Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Chain Bar, Moston Lane, United Methodist Free Church
- Streetfold, Moston Lane, United Methodist Free Church
- Ashley Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Moston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Moston area is Manchester.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Moston to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Moston was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

