Much Woolton

Select map to view larger area
WOOLTON, a village and a chapelry in Much-Woolton township, Childwall parish, Lancashire. The vi1lage stands 2 miles NNE of Garston r. station, and 5 SE of Liverpool; was anciently called Wolveton; comprises several streets; and has a post-office under Liverpool, a police station, and a mechanics' institution. The chapelry was constituted in 1828. Pop. in 1861, 3,538. Houses, 687. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, 300. Patron, the Vicar of Childwall. The church was built in 1826. There are an Independent chapel of 1864, a Wesleyan chapel of 1834, a Unitarian chapel of about the end of the 16th century, a Roman Catholic chapel of 1861, national schools, a British school, and a Roman Catholic school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Much Woolton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Much Woolton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Offices covering the Much Woolton area are Knowsley and Liverpool.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Much Woolton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Much Woolton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Much Woolton was a township in the parish of Childwall.

Maps

View maps of Much Woolton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ425864 (Lat/Lon: 53.371308, -2.865702), Much Woolton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Much Woolton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.