Nether Kellet

Select map to view larger area
KELLET (NETHER), a township in Bolton-le-Sands parish, Lancashire; 5 miles N by E of Lancaster. Acres, 2,018. Real property, 2,659. Pop., 284. Houses, 54. Dunald-Mill-Hole here is a curious stalactitic cavern, forming the commencement of a natural tunnel, which extends nearly 3 miles to the vicinity of Carnforth. A stream turns a mill adjacent to the cavern, and then traverses the tunnel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Nether Kellett.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Nether Kellet area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Nether Kellet area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Nether Kellet which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Nether Kellet to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Nether Kellet was a township in the parish of BoltonLeSands.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD504680 (Lat/Lon: 54.105486, -2.760095), Nether Kellet which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Nether Kellet was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.