Nether Wyresdale

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Description and Travel
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
WYERSDALE (Nether), a township in Garstang parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 4 miles NNE of Garstang. It contains Scorton village and Dolphinholme cotton factory; and comprises 3,640 acres. Real property, £3,892. Pop., 667. Houses, 121. The manor belongs to P. Ormrod, Esq. Wyre Side is the seat of H. Garnett, Esq.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Nether Wyresdale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Nether Wyresdale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Nether Wyresdale area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

Information about Scorton village.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Nether Wyresdale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Nether Wyresdale was a township in the parish of Garstang.

History

Some notes on the history of village of Scorton.

Maps

View maps of Nether Wyresdale and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Nether Wyresdale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.