Hide
Nether Wyresdale
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
WYERSDALE (Nether), a township in Garstang parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 4 miles NNE of Garstang. It contains Scorton village and Dolphinholme cotton factory; and comprises 3,640 acres. Real property, £3,892. Pop., 667. Houses, 121. The manor belongs to P. Ormrod, Esq. Wyre Side is the seat of H. Garnett, Esq.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Garstang library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Nether Wyresdale.
| Dolphinholme, Congregational |
| St Mary & St James Roman Catholic, Scorton |
The Register Office covering the Nether Wyresdale area is Lancaster.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"NETHER WYRESDALE, a township in the parish of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, county Lancaster, 4 miles N.E. of Garstang, its post town, and 6 N.E. of Garstang Church Town. The township includes the hamlet of Scorton, and is watered by the river Wyer. The soil is clay and loam. At Cross Hill is an endowed school for both sexes. The cotton manufactory of Dolphinholme is in this township. Wyerside is the principal residence. Peter Ormod, Esq., is the lord of the manor and principal landowner.
"DOLPHINHOLME, a village in the parish of Cockerham, in the county of Lancaster, 6 miles S. of Lancaster. The living is a curacy in the diocese of Manchester, in the patronage of R. Garnett, Esq."
"SCORTON, a hamlet in the parish of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, county Lancaster, 2 miles N.E. of Garstang, and 9 S. of Lancaster. It is a station on the Preston and Carlisle railway. It is situated near the river Wyre."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Nether Wyresdale to another place.
In 1835 Nether Wyresdale was a township in the parish of Garstang.
View maps of Nether Wyresdale and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD518506 (Lat/Lon: 53.949537, -2.736207), Nether Wyresdale which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Nether Wyresdale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.