Netherton

Select map to view larger area
NETHERTON, a township, with a village, in Sefton parish, Lancashire; on the river Alt, and on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 6 miles N by E of Liverpool. Acres, 1,090. Real property, 2,661. Pop., 286. Houses, 45. The manor belongs to the Earl of Sefton. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Netherton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Netherton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Netherton area is Sefton South.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Netherton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Netherton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Netherton was a township in the parish of Sefton.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Netherton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD358000 (Lat/Lon: 53.492764, -2.969166), Netherton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Netherton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.