Newchurch in Culcheth

Select map to view larger area
NEWCHURCH, or Newchurch-Kenyon, a village and a parish in Leigh district, Lancashire. The village stands near Kenyon Junction r. station, 3½ miles S of Leigh; and has a post-office under Warrington. The parish consists of the townships of Kenyon and Culcheth; contains the hamlets of Risley, Bury-Lane, Twiss-Green, Wigsbaw, and Holcroft; and was formerly a chapelry of Winwick parish. Acres, 6,958. Real property, 12,758. Pop. in 1851, 2,688; in 1861, 2,488. Houses, 499. The property is divided chiefly among four. The manor of Culcheth, with Culcheth Hall, belongs to T. E. Withington, Esq. Kenyon House is the seat of R. Dewhurst, Esq.; New Brook House, of J. Hartley, Esq.; and Ivy House, of M. Tomlinson, Esq. The cotton manufacture is carried on, and bricks and tiles are made. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, 240. Patron, the Earl of Derby. The church is old; comprises nave, aisle, chancel, and porch; and contains some brasses. There are a chapel of ease at Bury-Lane, chapels for Methodists, and national schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Newchurch in Culcheth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newchurch in Culcheth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Newchurch in Culcheth area is Wigan and Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Culcheth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Newchurch in Culcheth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Newchurch was a chapelry in the township of Culcheth in the parish of Winwick.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Newchurch in Culcheth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ661950 (Lat/Lon: 53.450654, -2.511939), Newchurch in Culcheth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Newchurch in Culcheth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.