Goldshaw Booth / Newchurch in Pendle

Select map to view larger area
NEWCHURCH-IN-PENDLE, a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire; averagely 3 miles N W of Marsden r.station, and 6 N W of Burnley. It contains the town-ships of Goldshaw-Booth, Roughlee-Booth, Old-Laund-Booth, and Barley-with-Wheatley-Booth; and its post town is Burnley. Acres, 5,080. Rated property, 5,012. Pop. in 1851, 2,328; in 1861, 1,738. Houses, 372. The property is much subdivided. The manors belong to the Duke of Buccleuch. The cotton manufacture is largely carried on. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 175. Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church is in the early English style; was built in 1544; and consists of nave and chancel, with a tower. There are three Methodist chapels and a parochial school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Nelson library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Newchurch in Pendle.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newchurch in Pendle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Newchurch in Pendle area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

Information about the area provided by Pendle.Net.

You can see pictures of Newchurch in Pendle which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Newchurch in Pendle to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Newchurch in Pendle was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Whalley. The Township was called Goldshaw Booth.

Maps

View maps of Newchurch in Pendle and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD823393 (Lat/Lon: 53.849630, -2.270541), Newchurch in Pendle which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Newchurch in Pendle was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.