Newton in Makerfield
|
|
|
|
NEWTON-IN-MACKERFIELD, a town, a parish, and a sub-district, in Warrington district, Lancashire. The town stands adjacent to the Liverpool and Manchester railway, in the neighbourhood of the junctions northward to Wigan and southward to Warrington, 1½ mile E N E of the magnificent railway viaduct over the Sankey valley, 5½ N by W of Warrington, and about midway between Liverpool and Manchester. It is some-times called Newton-le-Willows, or Newton-in-the-Willows; it is a borough by prescription; it sent two members to parliament from the time of Elizabeth till the passing of the reform act in 1832, and was then disfranchised; it was the scene of a defeat of the Highlanders in 1648, by a part of Cromwell's forces; it is near the spot where Huskisson was killed in 1830, at the opening of the Liverpool and Manchester railway ; it is a polling-place, and the place of election, for the S division of Lancashire; and it has a head post-office, designated Newton-le-Willows, a railway station with telegraph designated Newton, several inns, a constabulary station, two churches, an Independent chapel, a Roman Catholic chapel, a mechanics' institute, national schools, and charities £77. The parish church, or church of Emmanuel, is a recent stone edifice; and consists of nave, chancel, and porch, with tower and spire. St. Peter's church was recently rebuilt; and serves for a section which was made a separate charge in 1845, and had a pop. of 2,122 in 1861. The Roman Catholic chapel was built in 1865, after designs by Mr. G. Blount, at a cost of £4,000; and is in the decorated English style. The national schools were built in 1860, at a cost of more than £2,000; are in the early decorated English style; consist of centre and wings; and have a bell-turret. A weekly market was formerly held, but has fallen into disuse; fairs, chiefly forhorses, cattle, sheep, and pigs, are held on 17 May and 12 Aug; and there are an extensive foundry, a large sugar refinery, a paper mill, a printing establishment, and extensive railway waggon-works of the Northwestern company. The parish and the town are regarded as co-extensive; but the new large village of Earlestown, adjacent. to the Warrington junction, is included. Acres, 2,692. Real property, £17,061; of which £1,126 are in iron-works. Pop. in 1851, 3,719; in 1861, 5,909. Houses, 1,048. The increase of pop. arose mainly from the extension of trade. The manor belonged to Edward the Confessor; passed to the Langtons and others; and belongs now to W. J. Legh, Esq. The head living is a rectory, and that of St. Peter is a vicarage, in the diocese of Chester. Value of the rectory, £240; of the vicarage, £114. Patron of the former, the Earl of Derby; of the latter, W. J. Legh, Esq. The sub-district contains also the township of Haydock, and comprises 5,054 acres. Pop. in 1851, 5,713; in 1861, 9,524. Houses, 1,649.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Some records are held at Newton Library, but not much...they also have a large selections of newspapers there too. The rest of local records are split between St.Helens and Wigan Archives.Cemeteries
- Park Road South, Cemetery, Newton le Willows
- Emmanuel, Wargrave Road, Church of England
- St.Peter, Church St, Church of England
- Crow Lane, Congregational
- St Mary and St John, Crow Lane, Roman Catholic, Newton le Willows
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Newton in Makerfield.Church History
Church Records
- Crown St, Baptist, Earlestown
- Market St, Baptist
- Tamworth St, Calvinist, Earlestown
- Heather Brae, Church of Christ, Newton le Willows
- St John the Baptist, Market St, Church of England, Earlestown
- Emmanuel, Wargrave Road, Church of England
- St.Peter, Church St, Church of England
- All Saints, Crow Lane, Church of England, Newton le Willows
- Houghton St, Congregational, Earlestown
- Crow Lane, Congregational
- Haydock St, Evangelical, Newton le Willows
- Kingdom Hall, Earle St, Jehovah's Witness, Newton le Willows
- Leigh St, Primitive Methodist, Earlestown
- St David, Park Rd South, Roman Catholic, Newton le Willows
- St Mary and St John, Crow Lane, Roman Catholic, Newton le Willows
- St Patrick, Common Rd, Roman Catholic, Newton le Willows
- Tamworth St, Salvation Army, Earlestown
- Tamworth St, Trinity Christian Life Centre, Earlestown
- Houghton St, Welsh Baptist, Earlestown
- Tamworth St, Welsh Wesleyan Methodist, Earlestown
- Cross Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Earlestown
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newton in Makerfield area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Offices covering the Newton in Makerfield area are St.Helens and Warrington.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Newton in Makerfield which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Newton in Makerfield to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Newton in Makerfield was a township in the parish of Winwick.Maps
View maps of Newton in Makerfield and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ586954 (Lat/Lon: 53.453712, -2.624921), Newton in Makerfield which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Newton in Makerfield was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

